On Days Like These

It’s December, the days are getting colder, the night even colder; the days are getting shorter, even shorter for someone like me who ends the day without doing anything. When the clock strikes 12 noon, I ran down the stairs of my apartment to buy bread for breakfast, and before I could start my day, the sun is setting.

I have lost track of time. My parents live in the countryside, the Naga Hills of Manipur. When Christmas nears, everyone of my family from far and near come together to celebrate the happiness together at home. The thought of Christmas brings me memories of my childhood. It was during Christmas when I got new toys and jackets and sweaters and shoes.

I realized how penniless I had been that my account balance was at an all time low of 240.45 INR. Not that I had to pay rent or anything (my brother takes care of that), but still I am so broke. I have been staying indoor for the past many days, save the occasional run down to the nearest store to get breakfast and veggies. The days being short, my days ended up doing practically nothing at all. Soon after my breakfast, the sun is already down, and in no time it will set and the night will come.

The cold and foggy December attribute this late routine of mine. Of course I might be able to adapt to the normal morning timing of 6 am, but then I find no good reason in doing so save the nursery rhythm:

“Early to bed and early to rise,

makes a man healthy, wealthy and wise.”

Healthy, wealthy and wise.

All the shops open by 10 in the morning, so waking up early does not seem to make much sense to me when I don’t have classes to attend. On days like these, it is my time to sleep the morning away.

Just before the start of the winter break, I had a conversation with a friend of mine from Andaman & Nicobar:

So what will you be doing during the holidays?” he asked.

“I don’t know. Maybe I should eat as much as I can, and get the sleep I had long been deprive of. What about you?”

“I am writing a book. Hopefully I can complete it during the break if I worked really hard.”

“What is the book about?”

“explains what it is about”

He is a revolutionist in the making and plays an active role in student politics. In fact, he even contested for a post in the university students election this year while he is still a freshman. Such is the courage he has.

I was not lying. I have done nothing since the break started. I have been watching movies, spending endless hours on the internet, eating and sleeping a lot. I indeed had quite a busy schedule.

2 thoughts on “On Days Like These

Leave a Reply

